“Greetings in Jesus’ Name!”

Move over Jack Straw. I was contacted just now by someone who’d had this rather curious e-mail regarding an apartment in Nob Hill, San Francisco (yes, honestly), and was wondering if it was some kind of scam or not. Hmmm. All I can say is that we Jonathan Pinnocks don’t half get about, don’t we?

From: pinnock jonathan <pinnock.jonathan@gmail.com>
Date: Sat, Feb 28, 2009 at 11:54 PM
Subject: Re: nob hill apt
To: [deleted]


 How are you? Thanks for been interested in my apartment.My name is Rev Jonathan,Owner of the apartment you are making inquiry about,My apartment is still available for rent and it is located at:1030 Franklin St,San Francisco,CA 94109….I only need someone that can take good care of my apartment at my absence because,right now am not around to show you apartment as i  have gone for a MISSIONARY  WORK OF GOD IN WEST AFRICA .I want you to note that you will only be able to View the apartment from the outside because am here with the Keys and Document of my apartment,i tried to look for an agent before i left but couldn’t get any in time because i did not stay long in the apartment and was unable to look for a trust worthy person to give the keys to,If you know that you are ready to rent the apartment and have a good credential you can email me back to secure and occupy my apartment at my absent, all i want is for who will take very good care of the apartment as i will be gone for a very long time.Also i will like you to know that the rent charges is not really the issue, hope you are okay with the price of  $850 Per Month including utilities like water, gas, heat laundry facilities, air condition and so on, but your absolute maintenance of my apartment is most important thing, if you are really interested in renting this apartment get back to me by filling the application form below so that all arrangement can be made on how you will be getting the Keys and Document to move in.See Application Form below.

                   *********RENT APPLICATION FORM**********
                   *********PRIVATE & CONFIDENTIAL**********

1) Your Full Name.
2) Your Full Address
3)Phone Number
4) Citizen or Country ?
5) How old are you ?
6) Are you married ?
7) Sex ?
8) How many people will be living in the apartment?
9) Do you have a pet ?
10) Do you have a car ?
11) What is your Occupation ?
12) Short or Long Term Lease ?
13) When do you intend moving in : Date ?
14) When do you intend to moving out : Date ?
15) Deposit : One or Two month Deposit are required
16) Occupant Picture
17) Reference Details

Landing  33’1″ x 6’10” ( 7.83m x 2.88m )
Reception room  27’1″ x 26’1″ ( 6.28m x 5.98m )
Kitchen  23’1″ x 21’1″ ( 4.96m x 4.45m )
Bathroom  7’20” x 6’20” ( 3.18m x 2.88m )
Guest WC  6’1″ x 3’20” ( 2.62m x 1.96m )

I personally will actually come visiting you sometimes during when you have moved into my apartment. Looking forward to hear from you with all this details so that i can have it in my file in case of issuing the receipt for you and contacting you.  I can be reach anytime at +2348020671041 or 0112348020671041. Awaiting your reply so that we can discuss on how to get the document and the keys of the apartment to you.
Thanks and God Bless You
Rev Jonathan.

4 thoughts on ““Greetings in Jesus’ Name!”

  1. Guru says:


    I received the same email but with a different name and address…rest of the content was exactly the same 🙂

    Looked funny, just googled for the phone number and landed in your blog!


  2. Smiley says:

    This is definitely a scam. I contacted someone on Craiglist about an apartment in Huntington Beach. I got back an email from this guy… exactly the same letter as posted here. I have also reported him to Craigslist and the local authorities!

  3. admin says:

    I can’t help feeling that the return on it is going to be quite low by usual scam standards, though 🙂

    (BTW Welcome to all the people who are arriving here by Googling the phone number!)

  4. Oscar Windsor-Smith says:

    Now I recall why I’ve been so slow at getting myself a high-profile web presence.

    😉 scar

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.